What My Trip to South Korea and This Blog Means to Me

Most people are surprised were surprised when they heard that I want to spend over two months in South Korea, and now most people are surprised that I did spend over two months in South Korea.

Of course, I only spent about 70 days in South Korea. This blog has been running for five months, with a new post every day. That’s more than two days/posts per day I spent in South Korea.

Some people wonder how I managed not to get bored during all of that time in South Korea. As I told people over and over again, ‘I would rather spend two months in one country than visit eight countries in two months’. Spending an extended length of time in a single region allows me to get to know that region to a much deeper level – I can learn something meaningful about the culture, and I can makes more connections between the different things I experience. If I only spent a few days in a country, then spent a few days in another country, and do this with, say, 10 countries, I’m afraid that I would only notice surface things, and everywhere would start looking the same. As I’ve said in this blog, I love making connections between different things I see, such as seeing the art of Lee Jung-Seop in very different locations. To me, this is the essence of what learning is, and learning is one of the most wonderful experiences in life, at least to me.

When I was travelling in Japan (I spent almost six months in Japan in 2014), I kept a journal, so I’m not so concerned about forgetting important things about my travel there. If I want to remember, I can read my journals. I did not keep a journal in South Korea, so when I returned to North America, I decided I needed to capture my experience in South Korea in words as soon as possible, before the memories became too faded. If nothing else, it would help me process and crystallize my experiences, so I would get the most long-term value from my experiences.

I was returning to North America after having been away for years, without ever having come back even for a visit. I had only the vaguest notions of what my future in North America would be like. Indeed, South Korea was my last escape from facing certain realities on this side of the Pacific Ocean. While I was busy seeing as much of South Korea as possible, I wasn’t concerned with, say, finding a job.

This blog was, among other things, a way for me to continue looking back to my time in South Korea, and extend the escapism a little longer.

I’ve tried to write this blog in a way so that reader may experience travel the way I do – visiting every region (in this case, province), experiencing a variety of things, trying to learn as much as I can.

I ordered these posts by province to help readers, if they read a significant number of posts, to get a sense of what each province is like, and how they are distinct from each other. I also started with the most sparsely populated provinces and concluded with hyper-dense Seoul to make clear just how important population density is to how different parts of South Korea work. to However, there are other ways these posts can be grouped, and I think it is by grouping them in various different ways that the connections become most apparent. Thus, to conclude this blog, I am going to present six different alternate orders for all of the posts, as well as a final post about my favorite experiences.

Thank you for reading!

About Sara K.

Sara K. is an aromantic asexual from California who has previously lived in Taiwan. She blogs at the notes which do not fit, has previously been a contributor at Manga Bookshelf, and has written guest posts for Hacking Chinese. She enjoys reading, travel, live theatre, learning languages, and gardening.
This entry was posted in Overview. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What My Trip to South Korea and This Blog Means to Me

  1. kabeiser says:

    I loved it and I would love to spend 2 months in SK doing the same thing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

