Dragon Hill Spa, Part 2

This is a continuation of Part 1.

I didn’t take any photos at Dragon Hill Spa, but there are plenty on the internet. I am impressed by the set of photos at this website – they are recognizably photos of Dragon Hill Spa, yet they make it look much sleeker, shinier, and slicker than it looks in real life.

I went down to the common sauna area – everyone is in robes, and it is mixed gender. Of course, being a completest, I had to try all the saunas. I tried every temperature of the stone-brick sauna chambers, I tried the pyramid saunas, I had to try every section of the Himalayan salt sauna chamber (the Koreans seem to believe that touching Himalayan salt is very healthy – I remember my experience in Daegu, I had to try the hinoki room, and I had to try the ice room – I had to COLLECT THEM ALL!!!

So, which ones did I like the best?

I went to the ‘Ice room’ pretty often simply because it was a good place to cool off after a warm sauna room experience.

I liked the places where I could lie down inside the Himalayan salt room in different positions.

I also recall liking the pyramid room.

Of course, as a traveller, I like feeling new sensations. What was the most novel sensation I felt?

There was a sauna is a woman-only section, and when I went in, it made me break into a sweat much faster than any other sauna. I couldn’t stay there long. But after I got out, and rested outside, I also had a very clean, fresh feeling in my body. That was a novel sensation.

In the common area there are many massage chairs. Like many other services/amenities, you have to charge the fee for using the massage chairs to your key, and pay the balance when you exit. However, the fee is small, and I really like massage chairs, so I went ahead and did it. The massage chairs there are much better than most massage chairs I have used.

The outdoor areas, including the pool, were closed, possibly because it was mid-November and few people would want to swim outside in Seoul in mid-November.

There’s a PC room, and a games section, but alas, you have to pay fees to use any of them. I don’t particularly like the business about having to pay fees to use so many things. Pay fees for food / drink / labor-intensive services such as a massage from a human being, sure, charge an extra fee, but it grated on my that they charge a machine for using machines. But if the alternative is to charge a higher entrance fee, maybe it’s better that they do things the way they do, so that people who are mainly interested in the baths/saunas only need to pay for those.

There’s also a ‘resting area’ where you can lie down and take a nap. Many budget travellers in South Korea sleep in the jjimjilbangs since entrance fees are much cheaper than motels, but I never tried this trick.

Now, maybe this means of ‘I MUST TRY EVERYTHING (which doesn’t cost extra)’ is not the best spirit to enter a jjimjilbang. It’s certainly not the most relaxing approach. Even so, I managed to have a good time at Dragon Hill Spa, and spending all day sitting down and lying down in different spots within a single building was definitely more relaxing than most of my days in South Korea.

About Sara K.

Sara K. is an aromantic asexual from California who has previously lived in Taiwan. She blogs at the notes which do not fit, has previously been a contributor at Manga Bookshelf, and has written guest posts for Hacking Chinese. She enjoys reading, travel, live theatre, learning languages, and gardening.
This entry was posted in City, Seoul and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dragon Hill Spa, Part 2

  1. Pingback: SK in SK: Chronological Order | S.K. in S.K.

  2. Pingback: SK in SK: A History of South Korea | S.K. in S.K.

  3. Pingback: SK in SK: The Landscape of Feelings | S.K. in S.K.

  4. Pingback: SK in SK: Discovery vs. Construction | S.K. in S.K.

Leave a Reply

