Namsangol: A Preserved Slice of Seoul’s Joseon Heritage

DSCF8266

At the northern foot of Namsan is a set of beautifully preserved yangban (elite) Joseon homes. These homes weren’t originally together, but in order to preserve them, they were all moved here, Namsangol.

Namsangol is in Seoul's Jung (Central) District

Namsangol is in Seoul’s Jung (Central) District

As I’ve said before, I like Joseon architecture, and it is in a convenient location, so of course I wanted to see it.

The first time I stopped by, there was some kind of fruit festival going on.

The first time I stopped by, there was some kind of fruit festival going on.

In addition to showcasing beautiful examples of Joseon homes, there is also a center near the premises which has regular performances of gugak (classical Korean music). I never found time to attend a concert.

DSCF8270

One thing I like about Namsangol, which I did not see so much of at other Joseon-era yangban homes, is that they tried to furnish the homes just as they would have been during the Joseon dynasty. It allowed me to immerse my imagination deeper in that era.

DSCF8274

Just like in Bukchon, a lot of people like to play historical dress-up here.

DSCF8276

There is also a nice little pond just outside the complex of hanok homes.

DSCF7919

However, I think the best thing about Namsangol is that it becomes very atmospheric after sundown.

DSCF8282

I could see N Seoul Tower looming over the little ‘village’.

N Seoul Tower is in the upper right corner - a building from a very different era.

N Seoul Tower is in the upper right corner – a building from a very different era.

I think the colored lanterns definitely add something (and they look better in real life than in these photos taken with a cheap digital camera).

DSCF8287

DSCF8284

I think the interiors of the home also look more ‘atmospheric’ at night.

DSCF8285

So that’s Namsangol – a particularly beautiful example of Joseon architecture. In fact, if your time in limited, and you are more interested in admiring buildings than people-watching, I would definitely recommend going to Namsangol instead of Bukchon, especially if you can visit Namsangol in the evening (and maybe catch one of those concerts I missed).

DSCF8288

This entry was posted in City, Hanok/Folk Village, Joseon, Seoul and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Namsangol: A Preserved Slice of Seoul’s Joseon Heritage

  1. Nuruk says:

    Never heard of this place but I’m definitely going to check it out. Great post!

    Like

  2. Pingback: SK in SK: Chronological Order | S.K. in S.K.

  3. Pingback: SK in SK: A History of South Korea | S.K. in S.K.

  4. Pingback: SK in SK: Climates of South Korea | S.K. in S.K.

  5. Pingback: SK in SK: The Landscape of Feelings | S.K. in S.K.

  6. Pingback: SK in SK: Discovery vs. Construction | S.K. in S.K.

Leave a Reply

