So-Muuido, My Last Full Day in South Korea

DSCF8948

I decided to spent my very last full day in South Korea (i.e. the day before my departure) visiting the island Muuido and, in particular, its companion, the tiny little So-Muuido.

muuido

Muuido / So-Muuido are two of the many West Sea islands which are within Incheon City Limits. These two islands, however, happen to be right next to Yeongjongdo, the island which has Incheon International Airport, the busiest international airport in South Korea.

DSCF8885

I think it’s amusing that the one time I ever went to Incheon International Airport was not to catch a flight, but to catch a ferry (okay, technically it was a bus which went through and then past the airport to a place near Jamjindo).

DSCF8894

I enjoyed the ride across the bridge connecting Yeongjongdo / Incheon Airport to the mainland. There are still many mudflats around the island, which are no doubt ecologically rich. It’s quite a contrast with both the fancy airport and the major metropolis just across the bridge(s).

The view from the causeway connecting Yeongjongdo to Jamjindo.

The view from the causeway connecting Yeongjongdo to Jamjindo.

From the bus stop, I had to walk about twenty minutes, including across a causeway which connects the relatively large Yeongjongdo to the islet Jamjindo.

Jamjindo, as seen from the ferry

Jamjindo, as seen from the ferry

From Jamjindo, I took a ferry to Keunmuri, the largest village on Muuido (Muui Island). Unlike Seongmodo, the buses on Muuido are timed to meet the ferry, so I didn’t have to wait long to get on a bus.

DSCF8918

On the ferry, I met some people from Seoul who, like myself, were heading towards the island of So-Muuido for a hike.

DSCF8864

The bridge which connects Muuido and So-Muuido is for pedestrians and cyclists only – for So-Muuido is a automobile-free island.

DSCF8868

I took a path straight up to the top of the hill on So-Muuido.

DSCF8874

The top of the hill has a little pavilion where people can rest.

DSCF8879

I then went down the other side.

DSCF8892

I had put off visiting Muuido / So-Muuido until the last day because, well, it wasn’t at the top of my priority list.

DSCF8899

It’s a little automobile-free island which you walk around, big deal, I thought. Of course, I have been to a number of very beautiful remote islands, but considering the island(s) proximity to Incheon International Airport, I didn’t expect them to be *that* remote.

DSCF8905

Therefore, I was surprised by just how lovely and tranquil So-Muuido is, even though it’s a part of Incheon City and so close to the airport.

DSCF8911

I can’t say the island is unique – well, aside from its proximity to metropolitan South Korea – but it is a good place to relax and enjoy natural scenery.

DSCF8913

It just goes to show that, once again, South Korea has really uneven population density, and that the old and rural can be right next to the urban and modern.

DSCF8944

I particularly enjoy travelling to islands of East Asia, so it was appropriate that my last full day in East Asia would be on an island.

DSCF8952

I didn’t have time to really visit anywhere on Muuido itself, but that was fine with me – I figured that So-Muuido was the highlight anyway.

DSCF8960

So that is the last of the ‘Incheon Islands’ that I visited. Incheon, like much of South Korea, has many islands, and if I had more time I would have done more exploring. In the next post, I will finally describe my trip to downtown Incheon.

DSCF8966

About Sara K.

Sara K. is an aromantic asexual from California who has previously lived in Taiwan. She blogs at the notes which do not fit, has previously been a contributor at Manga Bookshelf, and has written guest posts for Hacking Chinese. She enjoys reading, travel, live theatre, learning languages, and gardening.
This entry was posted in Boat, Hike, Incheon, Mostly Photos, Sea and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to So-Muuido, My Last Full Day in South Korea

  1. Pingback: SK in SK: Chronological Order | S.K. in S.K.

  2. Pingback: SK in SK: Climates of South Korea | S.K. in S.K.

  3. Pingback: SK in SK: The Landscape of Feelings | S.K. in S.K.

  4. Pingback: SK in SK: Discovery vs. Construction | S.K. in S.K.

Leave a Reply

