Hwaseong Fortress: Completing the Circuit

DSCF8407

Are you surprised by how much there is to see in Hwaseong Fortress in Suwon City? I know I am. And since I wanted to complete the circuit of the walls, I went up Paldalsan once again.

Gyeoggi Province is in northwestern South Korea, and Suwon is in the southern part of the province.

In this post, I describe my journey from Paldalmun (the South Gate) to the little spur on the southern side of Paldalsan, as shown in the map below.

hwaseongmap6

After the southern floodgate, the wall disappears. This surprised me, since I had almost finished my circle of the wall, and assumed that it was continuous for the entire circle. Apparently, there are two small gaps in the wall on each side of Paldalmun (South Gate), probably to make way for vehicular traffic.

Paldalmun (South Gate)

Paldalmun (South Gate)

These gaps in the wall are almost certainly how I got into the center of the fortress without realizing I had entered the fortress.

The city of Suwon, as seen from the southern slope of Paldalsan

The city of Suwon, as seen from the southern slope of Paldalsan

When the wall restarts on the slopes of Paldalsan, the steps going up are quite steep. But I wanted to complete my circuit of the fotress, so I had to go up.

The secret gate to the southern spur

The secret gate to the southern spur

When I looked up at the ceiling of the secret gate, I saw the painting shown below.

DSCF8406

And then … I ENTERED THE SECRET GATE!!! (like I had entered all of the other secret gates in the fortress)

DSCF8408

I then went out to the pavilion at the edge of the spur.

DSCF8409

It may not be as pretty as this pavilion, but it’s still nice. In fact, I rather like this spur – I like that it’s surrounded by trees for a change, so I can put the city of Suwon out of my mind for a moment and pretend I am in the Joseon era, or at least admire the masonry.

DSCF8411

After I did a U-turn and returned to Paldalmun (South Gate), I went to a building which supposedly shows a short video about the fortress (why not) … but it turns out they weren’t showing it that day. But that brought me to the basement of the building, where I saw a gallery of ‘Humans of …’ photographs.

DSCF8410

One of the series highlighted, of course, was Humans of Suwon. I remember seeing some of the photos on the ‘Humans of Suwon’ page in the gallery. They also displayed ‘Humans of’ a few other South Korean cities, as well as some ‘Humans of’ various other countries. I’m glad I found my way into the building so I could see that gallery exhibit.

DSCF8412

So that is Hwaseong Fortress! I finished the circuit!

DSCF8413

About Sara K.

Sara K. is an aromantic asexual from California who has previously lived in Taiwan. She blogs at the notes which do not fit, has previously been a contributor at Manga Bookshelf, and has written guest posts for Hacking Chinese. She enjoys reading, travel, live theatre, learning languages, and gardening.
This entry was posted in City, Fortress, Gyeoggi, Hike, Joseon, Mostly Photos, World Heritage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hwaseong Fortress: Completing the Circuit

  1. Pingback: SK in SK: Chronological Order | S.K. in S.K.

  2. Pingback: SK in SK: A History of South Korea | S.K. in S.K.

  3. Pingback: SK in SK: Climates of South Korea | S.K. in S.K.

  4. Pingback: SK in SK: The Landscape of Feelings | S.K. in S.K.

  5. Pingback: SK in SK: Discovery vs. Construction | S.K. in S.K.

Leave a Reply

