Ahop-gut Maeul Experience Yard and Olle Route #13

DSCF5631

After visiting the <a href="“>Jeju Museum of War History Peace, I tried to walk to Nakcheon Village.

The map shows an area on the western end of Jeju Island

Nakcheon Village is near Cheongsu Village (where the museum is), but no, I had to make a wrong turn. When I ended up near Jeju Glass Castle, I considered changing my plans, but decided that I wasn’t interested enough. I ended walking all of the way to the entrance of the Spirited Garden.

DSCF5629

Just as I was trying to figure out whether or not to pay the 9,000 won entrance fee, a local shop owner who I had asked for directions had found a taxi for me, and I decided to put my won towards a ride towards the place I had originally planned to see, the Ahop-gut Maeul Experience Yard.

The great chair at the entrance.

The great chair at the entrance.

When I first read the description of Ahop-gut, I thought ‘an art installation featuring chairs? How could that be interesting?’

DSCF5630

Well, it is interesting. And after all of that running around, I enjoyed spending my time sitting in these chairs.

DSCF5632

The chairs come in all kinds of interesting shapes.

DSCF5633

Once I was done sitting around, there was the question: how would I get back to Jeju City?

DSCF5634

Well, I could walk to the center of Nakcheon Village, and wait for the infrequent inter-village bus, return to the main coastal road, and then take a bus back to Jeju City from there.

DSCF5635

But the Ahop-gut Maeul Experience Yard also happens to be in the center of Jeju Olle Route #13.

The entrance to the Olle Route.

The entrance to the Olle Route.

The trail just looked so inviting to me, I figured, I should walk down at least a little of it.

DSCF5637

And as I got further along the trail, it made less and less sense to backtrack.

DSCF5638

So I decided I would walk on the Olle route all the way back to the main coastal road and take the bus directly back to Jeju City.

DSCF5639

There was this one little problem: instead of walking towards the coast, I was walking away from it.

DSCF5636

It took me a while to notice that 1) I was going uphill and 2) I was not getting any closer to the coast.

DSCF5642

Futhermore, after all of my (mis)adventures, the day was not young.

DSCF5643

I ended go up to the top of Jeoji Oreum, one of the many parasitic volcano cones on Jeju Island. I would have probably enjoyed it more if I weren’t becoming seriously concerned about getting back to Jeju City. However, I wasn’t the last hiker to go up Jeoji Oreum that day – someone else went up after me.

DSCF5644

I didn’t even take any pictures up at Jeoji Oreum because because I was concerned about reaching the end of the route before dark.

A view from the Olle route

A view from the Olle route

However, soon after coming down from Jeoji Oreum, I reached the endpoint in Jeoji Village, where there was a bus which took me back to Gosan Village, and in Gosan Village I got on a bus back to Jeju City. It took a long time, and I didn’t get back to Jeju City before 8pm, but looking back on it I’m glad I had this little misadventure and got to learn something about one of Jeju’s less visited corners.

DSCF5650

About Sara K.

Sara K. is an aromantic asexual from California who has previously lived in Taiwan. She blogs at the notes which do not fit, has previously been a contributor at Manga Bookshelf, and has written guest posts for Hacking Chinese. She enjoys reading, travel, live theatre, learning languages, and gardening.
This entry was posted in Art, Geology, Hike, Mostly Photos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

