Yeomiji Botanical Garden in Jungmun

A closeup of white orchids inside the greenhouse

The Jungmun Resort is full of touristy attractions, such as the Teddy Bear Museum, the Museum of Africa, Ripley’s Believe It or Not, among others. I had less than two weeks to stay on Jeju Island, I didn’t want to pay a 6,000 won fee at each place, and I figured my appetite for touristy productions was limited. So I decided to visit only one of Jungmun Resort’s touristy constructions, and the one I picked was the Yeomiji Botanical Garden.

The map shows that Jungmun is on the western side of the southern coast of Jeju Island

I first toured the outer grounds which, include among other things, a traditional Korean garden, a traditional Japanese garden, a garden modelled on a famous Italian renaissance garden, among others.

I don't remember which garden I spotted this heron in.

I don’t remember which garden I spotted this heron in.

After having visited plenty of famous Japanese gardens in Japan, and having visited Italy long ago, I was not particularly impressed. I did, however, like the French maze garden.

Who doesn't like a nice maze garden?

Who doesn’t like a nice maze garden?

I also liked the garden modelling the alpine wetlands of Hallasan (in the center of Jeju Island) because I have a thing for alpine gardens.

DSCF5561

The Yeomiji Greenhouse

The Yeomiji Greenhouse

And then there is the *indoor* part of the botanical garden, which is supposedly the largest greenhouse in all of Asia.

DSCF5565

There are lush ferns to greet you at the entrance.

DSCF5570

There are different rooms mimicking different climates – desert, tropical forest, etc.

DSCF5572

I was a bit disappointed because it was all too manicured. There weren’t enough plants – by which I mean, there wasn’t enough diversity of plants – to feel right to me, and they were all separated from each other too much, rather than all growing together as they actually do in a wild environment.

DSCF5574

I realize this is supposed to be a showcase but … for some reason, it didn’t seem that satisfying to me. I guess I prefer less controlled gardens. I also felt like I wasn’t learning much from these displays.

DSCF5575

Above is a papyrus plant, the kind which the ancient Egyptians used to make paper.

DSCF5576

There is also an elevator to the top of the building, with a nice view.

Looking at Hallasan from Yeomiji

Looking at Hallasan from Yeomiji

Yeomiji Botanical Gardens is very impressive for what it is. I guess I was a bit unsatisfied because it wasn’t quite enough to make me ooh and aah with wonder, nor did it offer me any particular insight into botany or ecology.

This entry was posted in Jeju, Mostly Photos, Museum and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Yeomiji Botanical Garden in Jungmun

  1. Pingback: SK in SK: Chronological Order | S.K. in S.K.

  2. Pingback: SK in SK: A History of South Korea | S.K. in S.K.

  3. Pingback: SK in SK: Climates of South Korea | S.K. in S.K.

  4. Pingback: SK in SK: South Korea & Other Countries | S.K. in S.K.

  5. Pingback: SK in SK: The Landscape of Feelings | S.K. in S.K.

  6. Pingback: SK in SK: Discovery vs. Construction | S.K. in S.K.

Leave a Reply

