The Coast of Seogwipo

DSCF5549

I started in downtown Seogwipo (you can see a nice sunset at the seashore just next to downtown Seogwipo, trying to find Olle Route 6.

The map shows that Seogwipo is in the center of the southern coast of Jeju island

Of course, I wasn’t trying to do the full Olle 6 route, I was actually starting midway.

DSCF5513

It took me quite a while to figure out where exactly the Olle route was, and I got confused quite a few times on the outskirts of Seogwipo (then again, I generally got confused in Seogwipo’s streets). There were several art installations along the way, as well as the delightful plant shown above.

DSCF5516

It was around this point that I became confident that I was on the proper Olle route, and I stopped getting so disoriented.

Hallasan

Hallasan

I wasn’t able to see Hallasan every day I was in Seogwipo, but on this day Hallasan could be seen clearly (you can see Hallasan in the center of the map of Jeju Island).

DSCF5519

And I finally got down to the coastline.

DSCF5522

There were quite a few other people enjoying time by the rocks.

DSCF5523

I vaguely remember going up a hill after this set of rocks, but my memories might be mixed up with something else.

DSCF5527

DSCF5528

DSCF5529

DSCF5530

DSCF5532

DSCF5533

And finally I reached a famous site – Oedolgae Rock.

DSCF5538

To quote the Jeju Weekly:

According to one legend, General Choe-Yeong disguised the rock as an imposing military general to scare invading Mongols. The Mongols thought it was a monster and committed suicide rather than confront it, thus saving the island. For this reason, it is also known as the General Rock.

DSCF5540

Furthermore, a scene in the popular K-drama Dae Jang Geum (a.k.a. Jewel in the Palace) was filmed here, and a Chinese tourist I talked to was very interested in this location because she’s a fan of the drama.

DSCF5546

I found a monument to a clash between the Seogwipo police and … a North Korean infiltrator! Notes from a Korean Island presents the text from the monument.

DSCF5551

I also found a mystery waterfall! Ha HA! Apparently Jeongbang Waterfall is not even the only waterfall on the south coast of Jeju which falls directly into the sea, let alone the only one in Asia.

So that was my trip along the coast just to the west of downtown Seogwipo.

DSCF5552

This entry was posted in Geology, Hike, Jeju, Mostly Photos, Sea and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Coast of Seogwipo

  1. Pingback: SK in SK: Chronological Order | S.K. in S.K.

  2. Pingback: SK in SK: Climates of South Korea | S.K. in S.K.

  3. Pingback: SK in SK: The Landscape of Feelings | S.K. in S.K.

  4. Pingback: SK in SK: Discovery vs. Construction | S.K. in S.K.

Leave a Reply

