Udo Island: The Mini-Jeju

DSCF5879

Udo is the largest island off the coast of Jeju.

jeju03

It’s a very popular trip for the zillion tourists who come to Jeju island. This means Udo has a remarkably frequent and regular ferry service for an island which only has a population of about 1000 people.

DSCF5839

The black sea-birds greeted me shortly I got off the ferry.

DSCF5840

Like much of Jeju island, Udo island has plenty of fields divided by lava-stone fences.

DSCF5843

Udo island makes me think of the smaller islands in the Penghu Archipelago (Taiwan), though they do not get nearly as many tourists as Udo (for example, Qimei Island – which has three times Udo’s population – only gets one ferry per day). Both Penghu and Jeju/Udo are volcanic islands. Just as peanuts are a major crop for Penghu islands, so peanuts are Udo’s main crop. Peanuts do better in rough, windy, salty, nutrient-poor soil, coastal conditions than many other crops.

DSCF5841

Udo island has some nice beaches. In the water in the photo above is a statue of a haenyeo (female sea-driver), one of the famous symbols of Jeju island and its culture.

DSCF5845

I decided to walk the Olle 1-1 Trail on Udo Island, starting in Haumokdong Port (actually that wasn’t intentional – it just happened to be the first ferry I could board).

DSCF5846

I managed to walk around the island faster than I expected – it’s a mostly flat island – and to be honest, I was a little underwhelmed. This was actually my second-to-last full day on Jeju island, after having been on Jeju for more than 10 days, so I’d already see villages, fields, and beaches.

But then I hiked up Udo-bong (Udo peak), and saw this:

DSCF5850

Now that’s more like it!

DSCF5851

It was a nice day, and it is a nice view.

DSCF5852

Okay, forget what I said about Udo being boring.

DSCF5856

I find more reminders of Udo’s volcanic history.

DSCF5861

And this volcanic history comes with a blue sea.

DSCF5862

I eventually got up to the lighthouse, where I spent a little time chatting with some Canadian tourists.

DSCF5863

Just next to the lighthouse is an exhibit of miniatures of lighthouses from around the world. It’s a typical Jeju mini-park.

DSCF5865

Then I went out of the lighthouse area through this typical Jeju-kitsch gate.

DSCF5867

I’m glad I went through this section of the trail last, since this is Udo’s most dramatic scenery.

DSCF5871

DSCF5874

Here is Seongsan Ilchulbong, as seen from Udo Island

Here is Seongsan Ilchulbong, as seen from Udo Island

I reached Cheonjin Port, and took the ferry back to Seongsan village.

DSCF5881

About Sara K.

Sara K. is an aromantic asexual from California who has previously lived in Taiwan. She blogs at the notes which do not fit, has previously been a contributor at Manga Bookshelf, and has written guest posts for Hacking Chinese. She enjoys reading, travel, live theatre, learning languages, and gardening.
This entry was posted in Boat, Hike, Jeju, Sea and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Udo Island: The Mini-Jeju

  1. Pingback: SK in SK: Chronological Order | S.K. in S.K.

  2. Pingback: SK in SK: Climates of South Korea | S.K. in S.K.

  3. Pingback: SK in SK: The Landscape of Feelings | S.K. in S.K.

  4. Pingback: SK in SK: Discovery vs. Construction | S.K. in S.K.

Leave a Reply

