Sunrise at Castle Mountain Sunrise Peak

DSCF5929

I slept overnight in Seongsan village just so I could see one of South Korea’s most famous sights.

DSCF5923

Plenty of people had hiked up in the dark along a steep, yet short and illuminated, trail so we all could see the sunrise.

You can see the crowds down there.

You can see the crowds down there.

When it comes to sunrises, there’s always a risk that it’s going to disappoint, especially on a subtropical island with fussy weather. Though there were clouds, we at least got to see the sun come out of the ocean, so I can’t complain.

Seongsan Village

Seongsan Village

I also enjoyed watching Seongsan village light up.

DSCF5924

DSCF5936

DSCF5943

What is this famous place? It is none other than Seongsan Ilchulbong (城山日出峰), which means ‘Castle Mountain Sunrise Peak’.

DSCF5920

It is a 182 meter high tuff volcano which rises dramatically from the sea off the eastern coast of Jeju island.

jeju02

Seongsan Ilchulbong is part of a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

DSCF5934

I lingered on the top a long time, since I figured I would never be here again at sunrise (or at all, probably).

DSCF5938

I admit that, after hearing so much praise for Seongsan Ilchulbong, I was just a teensy bit underwhelmed by the landscape of the tuff crater itself. It’s not bad, it’s just that the most dramatic angle to look at the volcano is not from the top.

DSCF5946

When most of the sunrisers left, it was pretty peaceful up at Seongsan Ilchulbong, but by the time I was on my way down, the daytrippers on their way up were already growing in number.

DSCF5945

After descending Seongsan Ilchulbong, I went by the little black beach on its northern side (shown below), to admire one of Seongsan Ilchulbong’s volcanic cliffs.

DSCF5948

Of course, I saw Seongsan Ilchulbong from afar as well, and I intend to share some of those photos soon.

Thus begins my series of posts chronicling my adventures on Jeju Island!

If you want to see Seongsang at a different time of day, you can check out Farsickness.

DSCF5947

This entry was posted in Geology, Hike, Jeju, Mostly Photos, Sea, World Heritage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sunrise at Castle Mountain Sunrise Peak

  1. Pingback: Jeju Olle Trail Route #1 | S.K. in S.K.

  2. Pingback: SK in SK: Chronological Order | S.K. in S.K.

  3. Pingback: SK in SK: A History of South Korea | S.K. in S.K.

  4. Pingback: SK in SK: Climates of South Korea | S.K. in S.K.

  5. Pingback: SK in SK: The Landscape of Feelings | S.K. in S.K.

  6. Pingback: SK in SK: Discovery vs. Construction | S.K. in S.K.

Leave a Reply

