Jirisan National Park: Seseok to Ssangyesa via Samsinbong

DSCF7690

I woke up early at Seseok Shelter, and was on my way shortly before dawn. The sky was full of stars (Jirisan National Park lacks the light pollution found in South Korea’s urban centers).

Gyeongsangnam Province is in the southeastern corner of South Korea, and Jirisan National Park is at the western edge of the province - in fact, it straddles the border with Jeollanam Province.

I quickly passed the turnoff for the trail going to Georim – if you want to see photos of that trail, particularly during spring when the flowers are in bloom, you should check out Klimbing Korean Mountains.

DSCF7665

Just as sunlight was appearing, I stumbled on what looks like a stone shamanic shrine to me. Even though the hike had just begun, I figured I should sit down there and eat my breakfast (plus my headlight battery was dying, and I didn’t want to change it when it was so close to sunrise).

DSCF7671

And then I got to watch the sun slowly flood the valleys and the ridges with light.

DSCF7674

I really light the rays of sunlight reflected off the leaves

I really light the rays of sunlight reflected off the leaves

DSCF7677

Well, with the sun risen, it was time to GET MOVING!!!!

jirisan3

Now, when I had seen the maps and the hiking times, I thought the national park must have been exaggerating it. So many hours, for a *downhill* hike over a long (about 14 kilometers), but not super-long, distance? C’mon!

DSCF7679

Well … the trail from Seseok to Samshinbong is not flat.

DSCF7689

It is a very bumpy ridge, with lots of ups and downs. You do overall lose a few hundred meters of altitude if you go from Seseok to Samshinbong, but you really earn those declines in altitude.

DSCF7692

Furthermore, since this trail is a) long and b) does not connect with a really popular peak such as Cheongwangbong and c) has lots of ups and downs, there’s few people, and it’s not as developed as, say, the main ridge trail from Cheonwangbong to Seseok.

DSCF7694

In this post, I am, of course, putting in the prettiest pictures. And sometimes I would rest from this “downhill” hike and let myself take in the beauty of all of those mountains, the tree branches, the sunlight, and the sky.

DSCF7701

But for most of the hike, I was looking at trees, bamboo, and whatever obstacles the trail was throwing at me – in other words, most of what I saw looks like the above photo.

DSCF7696

Once I reached Samsinbong, I hoped that the trail would stop going up and down so much.

DSCF7698

NOPE! The section from Samsinbong to the turnoff for Ssangyesa was even worse – I didn’t lose any altitude at all, and I had to keep on going up and up over rough terrain, sometimes practically having to climb up steep rock faces with ropes. And the scenery wasn’t even as nice as the scenery between Seseok and Samsinbong (the first part of this day).

At one point I had to go through the hole in these giant boulders.

At one point I had to go through the hole in these giant boulders.

In fact, none of the pictures in this post are from the section after Samsinbong – I didn’t feel like taking photos, I wanted to move as quickly as possible so a) I would finally going downhill instead of uphill and b) I was beginning to worry that I might not be able to finish this before sundown.

I encountered a bunch of hikers at Samsinbong. I suspect that they went to Samsinbong as a day hike. They may have even come from Cheonghakdong village instead of Ssangyesa.

DSCF7704

Once I had put about five kilometers between myself and Seseok shelter, I was able to get a good view of the main Jirisan ridge, which I had hiked the previous day.

DSCF7705

The photo below shows Chotdaebong, which is very close to Seseok shelter.

DSCF7708

And the photo below shows Cheonwangbong, the highest peak in mainland South Korea (with Jeseokbong just to the left of it).

DSCF7706

About Sara K.

Sara K. is an aromantic asexual from California who has previously lived in Taiwan. She blogs at the notes which do not fit, has previously been a contributor at Manga Bookshelf, and has written guest posts for Hacking Chinese. She enjoys reading, travel, live theatre, learning languages, and gardening.
This entry was posted in Forest, Gyeongsangnam, Hike, Mostly Photos, National Park, Shamanism and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Jirisan National Park: Seseok to Ssangyesa via Samsinbong

  1. I like reading about your hiking experience while in Korea… GREAT job and thanks also for the link-ups to my blog! Happy Trails – Tom

    Like

    • Sara K. says:

      Thank you very much for reading!

      I also very much enjoy your blog because it allows me to peek at the hikes I didn’t have time to do myself when I was in South Korea (and in different seasons).

      Like

  2. Pingback: SK in SK: Chronological Order | S.K. in S.K.

  3. Pingback: SK in SK: Climates of South Korea | S.K. in S.K.

  4. Pingback: SK in SK: The Landscape of Feelings | S.K. in S.K.

  5. Pingback: SK in SK: Discovery vs. Construction | S.K. in S.K.

Leave a Reply

