Jirisan National Park: To Seseok Shelter via Jeseokbong, Jangteomok Shelter, & Chotdaebong

DSCF7656

After summiting Cheonwangbong, the highest mountain peak in mainland South Korea, it was time to get to the shelter where I had a reservation.

Gyeongsangnam Province is in the southeastern corner of South Korea, and Jirisan National Park is at the western edge of the province - in fact, it straddles the border with Jeollanam Province.

Speaking of shelter reservations, any foreign tourists trying to get reservations at shelters in South Korea should know this: as of 2014 (the year I visited South Korea) there was no English-language website where you couuld get mountain shelter reservations, and even if you used the Korean-language website, it was impossible to get a reservation without a residency number, which foreign tourists do not have!

jirisan2

A South Korean who lives in Germany told me that, even though he is a South Korean citizen, the online reservation system would not accept him because he is a non-resident.

DSCF7643

The way I got a shelter reservation is I sent emails to yhg2006@knps.or.kr, and I thank the staff member who responded for arranging the reservation at Seseok shelter for me. By the way, even if you do not have a South Korean bank account, you can send money to the Korean National Parks’ bank account by visiting any retail bank in South Korea (I was charged a 1,000 won fee for this service).

DSCF7644

After taking longer than expected to get up the ridge, I practically flew along the ridge trail as swiftly as my adrenalin could muster.

Looking back at Cheonwangbong

Looking back at Cheonwangbong

It didn’t take me long to reach the top of Jeseokbong, which at 1,806 meters is the third highest peak in Jirisan and mainland South Korea.

Above the sky is white, and below is a field of yellow, dried plants with grey stumps of trees rising up

At the top of Jeseokbong

Apparently, Jeseokbong was once covered with forest, but in the 1950s illegal logging was common in Jirisan, and the illegal loggers accidently set off a fire which killed all of the trees at the top of Jeseokbong. The National Park says this is a parable which should teach us to value and care for the environment.

DSCF7646

After passing Jeseokbong, I descended to the little coll where Jangteomok Shelter lies.

DSCF7647

I could tell that Jangteomok Shelter was going to be full that night, and that they must have all gotten their reservations early.

DSCF7648

It’s no wonder – Jangteomok Shelter is the closest to Cheonwangbong. Rotari Shelter is also close, but Rotari Shelter -> Cheongwangbong is a lot steeper than Jangteomok -> Cheongwangbong. These overnighters all wanted to get up early enough to see the sunrise from Cheongwangbong, mainland South Korea’s highest point.

DSCF7649

After I passed Jangteomok, I continued to encounter many hikers bound for Jangteomok.

DSCF7651

I continued on the way, letting appreciate the scenery a little, but not so much that I would not reach Seseok Shelter by sunset.

DSCF7652

DSCF7654

DSCF7657

I passed Chotdaebong, which at 1,704 meters is the 8th highest peak in all of South Korea, and finally caught sight of Seseok Shelter, which would be my home for the night.

DSCF7660

I wanted to sleep in at least ONE mountain shelter in South Korea (I like to compare mountain shelters), and Seseok Shelter was that one. It is the largest mountain shelter in Jirisan National Park, and since it’s not particularly close to a popular peak or convenient access route, it was not full that night (it turns out I didn’t even need my reservation since they were accepting drop-ins).

Inside Seseok Shelter

Inside Seseok Shelter

It wasn’t a particularly social experience, probably because I don’t speak Korean and they didn’t speak English, but it’s a clean, comfortable (by mountain standards) shelter. I used my sleeping bag, but they also rent out blankets.

When it was time, I tucked into my sleeping bag, put in my ear plugs, and closed my eyes.

DSCF7658

About Sara K.

Sara K. is an aromantic asexual from California who has previously lived in Taiwan. She blogs at the notes which do not fit, has previously been a contributor at Manga Bookshelf, and has written guest posts for Hacking Chinese. She enjoys reading, travel, live theatre, learning languages, and gardening.
This entry was posted in Gyeongsangnam, Hike, Mostly Photos, National Park and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Jirisan National Park: To Seseok Shelter via Jeseokbong, Jangteomok Shelter, & Chotdaebong

  1. Pingback: SK in SK: Chronological Order | S.K. in S.K.

  2. Pingback: SK in SK: A History of South Korea | S.K. in S.K.

  3. Pingback: SK in SK: Climates of South Korea | S.K. in S.K.

  4. Pingback: SK in SK: The Landscape of Feelings | S.K. in S.K.

  5. Pingback: SK in SK: Discovery vs. Construction | S.K. in S.K.

Leave a Reply

