Why Travel in South Korea? Why Create This Blog?

Chungju01

When I told people – even Koreans – that I was planning to travel in South Korea for a couple months, the question I almost always heard was ‘Why’? And ‘what is there to do?’ And now that I have left South Korea, people are surprised that, in two months, all I did was travel.

So why did I go there?

gen01

I have been interested in South Korea since I was in college.  I read Korean comics.  I took a taekwondo class.  I got a cookbook with a ‘Korean’ section and starting making kimchi.  Things like that.  Heck, I even read Everlasting Flower, a History of Korea. I had seriously considered moving to South Korea before I decided to move to Taiwan instead, and I considered moving from Taiwan to South Korea. I finally decided that what I really wanted was to travel in South Korea, not to live there.

gen02

My travels in South Korea were heavily influenced by my experiences in Taiwan. I never intended to stay in Taiwan for more than a few years, so I felt I had to take nearly opportunity to explore Taiwan that I could. The result was that, in Taiwan, I ended up spending almost any off-work day with good weather travelling, and over a few years I managed to visit many, many corners of Taiwan. I have not been everywhere in Taiwan (that would take a lifetime), but I have been to every region and to many of the less-known places of scenic, historical, and/or cultural interest.

Thus, I wanted to travel South Korea thoroughly, and try to get as much of a handle on what South Korea is as can be done in just a couple months.

gen03

For all of those people who wonder what there is to see and do and South Korea, this blog will answer that question. I didn’t see or do everything, but I did go to every province, and I covered a lot of ground.

gen04

And of course, I noticed that the initials for South Korea – S.K. – are the same as the initials for my own name – S.K. – which is why I named this blog ‘SK in SK’ (or ‘SKnSK’).

gen05

I am not going to do this in chronological order. First I am going to start with my favorite province, Chungcheongbuk-do, which also happens to be one of the most rural, and then spiral clockwise around South Korea until I end in Seoul, forming a nice spectrum from remote and rural to urban and cosmopolitan.

(Hint: the only two cities in ChungCheongbuk Province are Chungju and Cheongju, and ‘buk’ means ‘north’, so I remembered the name ‘Chungcheong-buk’ by thinking of it as ‘the Northern province of Chungju City and Cheongju City’)

Settle down in your armchair and come to South Korea with me.

This entry was posted in Introduction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Why Travel in South Korea? Why Create This Blog?

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    I love S.Korea. Wish I had a longer holiday when I was there.

    Like

  2. Dana says:

    Hi^^ Sarak I am really looking forward to next trip in Korea. Have a nice day~

    Like

Leave a Reply

